What Is Personal Property?Personal Property consists of:
- Any furniture, fixtures, machinery, equipment, inventory, etc. used in a business
- Any other personal property used in business
- Aircraft and boats/motors owned by any individual or corporation
Any and all tax is the responsibility of the current owner in possession of the property, regardless of how many times the property has changed owners. If you are planning to purchase a boat/airplane, or business, check to ensure that all delinquent tax has been paid. Though buyers/sellers may privately agree to responsibility of delinquent tax, according to the State, the current owner will be held responsible and may be subject to levy.
When selling personal property, you must inform the Property Appraisal office of the transfer of ownership. Likewise, when purchasing personal property, the Property Appraisal office needs to know the new owner's contact information, and to be informed of any changes to the value of the property.
It is your responsibility to update the Property Appraisal office yearly by way of a Personal Property Tax Return. If you do not inform the Property Appraisal office, you may be taxed for property you no longer own. Returns must be filed by April 1st.
Personal Property Tax Returns
Individuals, partnerships, corporations, etc. doing business or residing in Glynn County must file a personal property return by April 1 each year with the personal property section of the Property Appraisal office at 1725 Reynolds Street, Suite 101, Brunswick, Georgia 31520.
A 10% penalty is assessed for failure to file or late filing.
All tangible personal property for a taxpayer except motor vehicles, trailers and mobile homes, shall be exempt from all ad valorem taxation if the actual fair market value is of the total amount of taxable tangible personal property owned by the taxpayer within the county, as determined by the Board of Assessors, does not exceed $7,500.
Aircraft are taxed at the location where hangered or tied down and where the flights normally originate. Any aircraft which have no permanent location are taxable at the domicile of the owner unless they acquire a business situs elsewhere.
Boats/motors are taxed in the county where they "functionally" located for recreational or convenience purposes. "Functionally" located means located in a county in this state for a cumulative period of 184 days or more during the immediately preceding calendar year.
Personal Property Exemptions:
Georgia exempts a property owner from paying property tax on:
- Items of personal property used in the home if not held for sale, rental, or other commercial use.
- All tools and implements of trade of manual laborers in an amount not to exceed $2,500 in actual value.
- Domestic animals in an amount not to exceed $300 in actual value.
- Tangible personal property that does not exceed $7,500 in value-excluding motor vehicles, trailers, and mobile homes.
- Computer Software may be exempt when it is installed on computer hardware as an operating system.
- Farm Products may be exempt when still in the hands of the producer and farm equipment used in the direct cultivation of the soil may be exempt from ad valorem taxation when owned by certain persons. This includes farm equipment held under a lease purchase agreement.
Level 2 Freeport Inventory includes finished goods constituting the inventory of a business which would not otherwise qualify for a Level 1 Freeport. Each county or city governing authority may set, by resolution, the percentage of exemption after approval by voters. Property owners
seeking this exemption must apply annually.
How can this affect your business license?
On October 20, 2022, the Occupation Tax Ordinance of Glynn County was amended to add Section 2-6-41. The ordinance states that businesses and practitioners subject to Occupation Tax Ordinance, that are delinquent in paying any personal property ad valorem taxes, will be required to show proof of payment. This means that you will not be able to renew your county business license if you have delinquent personal property tax.
If your account is delinquent, you will be required to pay the balance in full using certified funds (money order, cash, certified check) before you will be allowed to renew your business license. Once your account has been paid, we will provide you with a Proof of Eligibility letter that you may then take to Occupation Tax to renew your business license. If you mail your tax payment using certified funds we will forward your Proof of Eligibility letter to Occupation Tax for you.
Keep in mind that our online payment portal only shows the two most recent tax bills. To view all your tax bills, click here.
It is important to make sure your mailing address is correct so you don't miss any important notifications. If you need to update your mailing address, contact GIS and Mapping.
This rule only affects businesses and practitioners with County Business Licenses, issued through Glynn County Community Development/Occupation Tax. If your business does not require a license, or you have a business license issued by the city, this rule does not apply to you.
The Property Appraisal office is a seperate entity and is not under the authority of the Office of Tax Commissioner. To learn more, and to inquire about appeals, visit the Property Appraisal Office at 1725 Reynolds Street, Suite 101, or view their webpage at glynncounty.org.